top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniella.Maria

Transform a Boring Entry Closet into a Mini Mudroom

Updated: Sep 3, 2019

Approximately 2 years ago, we moved to the small town of Bolton Ontario and found a pre-loved house that we were ready to make our mark on. However, there are a series of DRASTIC changes that have to be made all over the house. Unfortunatly with only one pay check, we couldn't afford to reno the house before moving in. Nevertheless, one of the many changes that was on the list was our entryway closet.


Now lets keep in mind, our house is a cozy 2000 square feet and we currently are renting out the basement...(gotta do what you gotta do, right)? With that said, we are defiantly in need of space. Lemme tell you, I was sick and tired of putting my shoes on the floor and having lack of space for our basic essential items (#firstworldproblems).



Our closet prior to our project. Not much space, no where to put on shoes, looks dull and gloomy.
Before

With just a simple measurements and inspiration, you can change your closet into something like this to!


Lower shelf for storage and shoes, hooks for coats and bags, upper shelf for other items not used on a daily basis
After

I have to say, this project was super easy and quick (with the help of the hubby of course). Now, this was not expensive for us considering we already had a few essential pieces to complete this project. The most time saving had to be the cedar wood panels in the closet wall. These wood panels were already in the closet (BOO-YAH), they just needed a nice refresh with some white paint (which we had already in our garage).

The bench is technically not a sitting bench. This is the HEMNES tv media bench from Ikea. We already had this media bench in our procession which helped! The items I did purchase were the 4 black hooks (SVARTSJON) and the upper floating wall shelve (I believe this is a LACK wall shelve and I purchased the brackets separately). After everything was put together the fun began, TIME TO DECORATE!


I had a couple seagrass baskets lying around and re-purposed them in this space. I organized the drawers and baskets with all the ugly, not appealing things....but things you definitely need like hats, scarfs, etc. I also hid my vacuum in the "nook" thats on the right side of the closet. Not the most appealing thing to have hanging but alas, we need one. Greenery adds colour and freshness to every space, seriously cannot go wrong. The last piece to finish off this space was the rug. This bohemian style rug gives me all the warm feels (purchased at #homesense).


I am so grateful for this space and thank the stars that it was done before boot and coat season! I now look forward to putting on my shoes.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page