top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniella.Maria

Give me "Space." Revamped nursery to a bold kids room!


Ive been waiting to share this room on the blog for some time now and this space (pun intended...haha) is finally done! For those who don't know, my son Sebastian has outgrown his nursery for quite some time now. This inspired me to revamp his room into a playful area that he can grow into and keep for years to come. Now getting to know a toddlers interests are not always easy...they change all the time! One day he'll love something, the next hell cry over it...seriously kid make up your mind. But the one thing I felt he never stoped being preoccupied with was his interest in space.


NOTE** I linked some of the items at the bottom of each section if you wanted to buy for yourself.


Before elaborating, here is a look of his previous room as a nursery.



I think it was great for the time being! I didn't want anything too crazy, just a sweet and simple little boys room.




A Starry Night


Where to begin!? I knew I wanted to have a vibrant accent wall in his space, so clearly the first thing that came to my mind was wallpaper! On the hunt I went...and boy was I in for a rude awakening. You guys...wallpaper is RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE, especially if you want a nice one! Like are you f&*%ing kidding me? After calculating the square footage of JUST THE ONE WALL, the cost of it would be over 400$.....#dead. I mean...if money isn't an issue for you, then by all means go for it because there is a selection of some beautiful designs. But with all due respect, there was no way in hell I was spending that lol.


I was not going to give up that easy, there had to be another way..and there was! A more cost efficient but still just as exquisite approach, good old wall decals! For those who don't know, wall decals are vinyl stickers that safely go on (and off) your walls without damaging the paint. After a long day of searching, I finally found my match! I choose a starry constellation decal set from a family shop called Jesabi on Etsy. They have so many different wall decals that would suit your unique taste and style, and I got mine for under 100$!


Now all that was left to do was choose a paint colour that I thought would mesh well with the decals. Space is dark, hence dark paint. I am not the bravest being when it comes to choosing coloured paint. I usually head in the direction of neutrals, but seeing as this was an outer space theme, it became clear to choose a more bold colour. I decided to go with "starless night" (ironic lol) from Behr which is sold at home depot (make sure you go with an eggshell finish so the decals attach properly).


When applying wall decals, make sure you take your time and have a lot of patience! Sometimes it gets frustrating, but totally worth it in the end. When it comes to applying your decals, make sure you have an idea of where you want to place them as opposed to just randomly sticking them everywhere. I cut each constellation out and placed them on the wall with painters tape.

Remember, this wall will be the focal point of the room, so take your time and have fun with it! I spread out the bigger constellations first, then integrated the smaller ones. After every decal was in its perfect spot, it was time to get sticking! NOTE: Make sure you buy a vinyl wrap tool to help apply the decals on the wall!



A sh**t load of patience and twelve cups of coffee later, this is the finished result!




A non stressful Gallery Wall



When it comes to creating a gallery wall, I get into mini panic mode. So many things come to mind...like how big should I get the frames? What pictures should I use? How should I hang them up?? Its like mind blown..and I give up.


Fortunately, this time it wasn't as bad as I thought. I took it step by step and it was done in no time.


First things first, I set up my frames on the wall with no pictures in them. When setting the frames on the wall, think of them fitting in a big imaginary square. This makes the pictures look clean and organized rather then a big mess. If you are having trouble imagining, go the extra step and use some painters tape to create a square to help keep your fittings. As you can see, I used bigger frames. Firstly, he has massive wall coverage. Secondly, it saves me from having to hang 20 small frames and going insane..so bye.


Once the frames were up I decided to add different texture pieces so his wall wouldn't look so blah. I kept it super modern and simple with a plain clock and wall banner.

Now that everything was in place, it was time to decide what the hell to put in these frames!



Deciding the pictures in the frames was the fun part! I got the prints as a digital file on Etsy and had them printed at home. This method is super easy, and not to mention affordable!




Creative work space


We previously put up floating shelves when Sebastian had his nursery, and this was one feature that we decided to keep. Swapping the baby items for some fun and playful new pieces . I used a round kids table we previously had, and re purposed it as a play/work station. Eventually, this will be updated to a desk with more storage when its time for school!



Relax and Read



As explained in one of my previous posts, we created a cozy book nook in Sebastian room (it was halloween time so hence all the dark, spooky books). This had to of been one of the BEST ideas. We minimized the reading corner so it wouldn't take away from his starry accent wall. This space is still a personal fav!



The Final Touches



Sebastian's bed looked "empty" sort of speak. Adding a simplistic, modern bedside table was all it took! This was the final, yet perfect touch to complete his room.



That about sums it up! This room is now one of my favourite places to be in, and I'm sure Sebastian thinks so to!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page